The WBC (World Boxing Council) has decided that Chad Dawson’s controversial second-round TKO win over Light Heavyweight Champion Bernard Hopkins on Oct. 15 will be ruled a technical draw. Dawson lifted Hopkins off of him during the bout and sent the champion crashing to the canvas where he suffered a separated shoulder. Hopkins didn’t want to continue and referee Pat Russell called it a TKO since he didn’t rule Dawson’s maneuver to be a foul.
Most fans figured the WBC would eventually rule a no contest or something similar and it didn’t take them long to do so. Therefore, Hopkins is still the WBC champion. However, the WBC doesn’t have the power to overrule the California State Athletic Commission (CSAC) and they may not decide to change the outcome of the match. If they don’t then the result will officially be ruled a second-round TKO for Dawson. The commission probably won’t make a ruling until December though.
This may seem a little strange, but the WBC doesn’t have the power to overrule the commission. They can only rule within their own organization and who holds the belt. If the 29-year-old Dawson is interested in becoming the WBC titleholder he’s going to have to face the 46-year-old Hopkins again. It’s assumed that the WBC will give him this opportunity once Hopkins shoulder has healed.
Hopkins was happy with the decision of course and said justice was done by the WBC. But Gary Shaw, whom promotes Dawson, said he’s pretty disappointed in the move, but is confident that the boxing organization will place Dawson back in his number one ranking, meaning Hopkins will have to fight him since he’s the mandatory challenger.
Shaw said Hopkins fouled Dawson first by draping himself over his boxer’s back and Dawson simply tried to get his opponent off of him. He said he accepts the ruling, but still doesn’t agree with it. Hopkins has filed a protest with the CSAC and wants it to change the result to a disqualification win for himself. However, if the commission does change the official result it’s more likely they’ll rule it a no decision or a technical draw.
WBC boss Jose Sulaiman came to his decision after watching a videotape of the bout and felt that Dawson intentionally lifted Hopkins off of him, but didn’t meant to cause any damage. He also took into consideration the medical report on Hopkins to make sure he wasn’t faking an injury. In addition, when other unintentional fouls are committed, such as head butts, the fight is ruled a technical draw if it has to be stopped in the first four rounds. If the fight enters the fifth round and is stopped due to injuries sustained by accidental fouls then it goes to the scorecards.
While many fans feel Hopkins got what he deserved because they perceive him as a dirty fighter, the WBC ruling was still the right one to make. Dawson will now have the opportunity to prove he can beat him with boxing skills alone the next time they meet.